Banner Bottom Image
Calendar of Events - List View
Click for Calendar View...


   Monday, July 23, 2018
10:30 AM
StoryTime
Event Location: Pike Road Branch Library
Intended Audience: Ages 3 and Up
Description:  
  • – Violet has been looking for kindred music-making spirits since she was a baby in the nursery. Will she ever find someone who marches to the same beat? We’ll find out when we read Violet’s Music by Angela Johnson and Laura Huliska-Beith.



4:30 PM
StoryTime
Event Location: Pike Road Branch Library
Intended Audience: Ages 3 and Up
Description:  
  • – Violet has been looking for kindred music-making spirits since she was a baby in the nursery. Will she ever find someone who marches to the same beat? We’ll find out when we read Violet’s Music by Angela Johnson and Laura Huliska-Beith.



   Tuesday, July 24, 2018
10:00 AM
Computer Class for Seniors
Event Location: Coliseum Boulevard Branch Library
Intended Audience: Adults
Description:  Today we will be discovering MCCPL’s Digital Collection. Please call to register 271-7005


10:00 AM
StoryTime
Event Location: Bertha Pleasant Williams Library - Rosa Parks Branch
Intended Audience:
Description:  If You’re a Monster and You Know It (Emberley) come to story time! We’ll also read Dooby Dooby Moo (Cronin) and see who wins the talent show


10:30 AM
StoryTime
Event Location: Hampstead Branch
Intended Audience:
Description:  Problems and balloons are everywhere in today’s stories about a porcupine who loves balloons and a sheep with a BIG imagination. Books:  Mathilda and the Orange Balloon by Randall de Seve and Perfectly Percy by Paul Schmid
Activity: Balloon popping



4:30 PM
StoryTime
Event Location: Hampstead Branch
Intended Audience:
Description:  Problems and balloons are everywhere in today’s stories about a porcupine who loves balloons and a sheep with a BIG imagination. Books:  Mathilda and the Orange Balloon by Randall de Seve and Perfectly Percy by Paul Schmid
Activity: Balloon popping



10:00 AM
Amelia Earhart Day
Event Location: Governors Square Branch Library
Intended Audience: Preschool
Description:  The children will see a short video about Amelia Earhart and hear Ms. Anita read Amelia Earhart. Then the children will do a coloring page activity.


   Wednesday, July 25, 2018
6:30 PM
Novel Colors
Event Location: Bertha Pleasant Williams Library - Rosa Parks Branch
Intended Audience: Adult
Description:  LOCATION: Books-a-Million in Eastchase
Title: Captain Marvel Vol. 1: Rise Of Alpha Flight (2016)
Authors/Illustrators: Tara Butter, Michelle Fazekis, and Kris Anka (Available on Hoopla)
Description: Carol Danvers soars higher than ever with her greatest mission yet - leading Earth's first line of defense, the all-new Alpha Flight space program! And some alums of the old-school Flight are along for the ride: Puck, Aurora and Sasquatch! It's a bold new frontier for Captain Marvel, but can she handle being a       diplomat first and a soldier second? She'll face negotiations with alien delegates, passive-aggressive power struggles with Flight Commander Abigail Brand, an insatiable itch to be out on the front lines and the mystery of a ghost ship bearing the Star of Hala - the very symbol she wears on her chest! Plus: Carol's powers are on the fritz, and all evidence says Alpha Flight has a traitor in its midst. 



11:00 AM
Ramer Summer Adult Programs
Event Location: Ramer Branch Library
Intended Audience: Adult
Description:  Ramer Readin’ Right Book Club


   Thursday, July 26, 2018
3:00 PM
Curious Genre Book Club
Event Location: Coliseum Boulevard Branch Library
Intended Audience: Adult
Description:   The Whole Town’s Talking, by Fannie Flagg Elmwood Springs, Missouri, is a small town like any other, but something strange is happening at the cemetery. Still Meadows, as it’s called, is anything but still. Original, profound, The Whole Town’s Talking, a novel in the tradition of Thornton Wilder’s Our Town and Flagg’s own Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven, tells the story of Lordor Nordstrom, his Swedish mail-order bride, Katrina, and their neighbors and descendants as they live, love, die, and carry on in mysterious and surprising ways. http://fannieflaggbooks.com/books/the- whole-towns-talking-tr/the-whole-towns-talking-h


10:00 AM
Summer Story Time
Event Location: Coliseum Boulevard Branch Library
Intended Audience:
Description:  I love dogs! Harry by the Sea, by Gene Zion Harry the dog gets covered with seaweed and everyone thinks he is a sea monster. Harry the Dirty Dog, by Gene Zion Harry is a very friendly dog who likes everything except getting a bath. Craft – Dog mas


3:00 PM
Libraries Rock with Book Clubs
Event Location: EL Lowder Regional Library
Intended Audience: Adult
Description:   Libraries Rock with Book Clubs The Ladies of High Tea Book Club will meet to discuss Lethal Legacy by: Linda Fairstein.


10:00 AM
Lap Sit Time
Event Location: EL Lowder Regional Library
Intended Audience:
Description:   Peep! by Maria Van Lieshout Peep was scared of crossing roads or jumping off the side walk.  His sisters and his mother gave him some    encouragement.  Guess what?  Peep was able to do things now.  Do you ever get nervous or think that you cannot do something?
 



3:00 PM
Adult Summer Reading Program
Event Location: EL Lowder Regional Library
Intended Audience: Adults
Description:  Our final Adult Summer Reading Program will be another Libraries Rock with Book Clubs with the Ladies of High Tea Book Club reading and discussing Lethal Legacy by Linda Fairstein.  (Note: On August 23, Ladies of High Tea will read Mrs. Lincoln’s Dressmaker by Jennifer Chiaverini)


   Friday, July 27, 2018
10:00 AM
Lap Sit Time
Event Location: EL Lowder Regional Library
Intended Audience:
Description:  The Ear Book by Al Perkins “Our ears hear water. Drop. Drop. Drop.”  Our ears hear things all throughout the house and outside.  What are you hearing with your ears? Pete the Cat Rocking in My School Shoes by Eric Litwin Pete is excited because he is going to school and is wearing his new red shoes.  Pete makes a song up about           everything that he does at school using “I’m rocking in my school shoes.”  Do you ever create a song about         something that you are excited about and want to share? Activity: Share something that you are excited about


10:15 AM
Lap Sit Time
Event Location: EL Lowder Regional Library
Intended Audience: Pre-K
Description:  The Ear Book by Al Perkins “Our ears hear water. Drop. Drop. Drop.”  Our ears hear things all throughout the house and outside.  What are you hearing with your ears? Pete the Cat Rocking in My School Shoes by Eric Litwin Pete is excited because he is going to school and is wearing his new red shoes.  Pete makes a song up about           everything that he does at school using “I’m rocking in my school shoes.”  Do you ever create a song about         something that you are excited about and want to share? Activity: Share something that you are excited about


   Monday, July 30, 2018
10:30 AM
StoryTime
Event Location: Pike Road Branch Library
Intended Audience: Ages 3 and Up
Description:  – Baby Owen loves bluegrass music and his granny plays a mean banjo. The only problem is they live far apart. We’ll see how far granny will go to watch Owen wiggle, giggle and jiggle for her bluegrass tunes in Banjo Granny by Sarah Martin Busse, Jacqueline Briggs Martin and Barry Root.


4:30 PM
StoryTime
Event Location: Pike Road Branch Library
Intended Audience: Ages 3 and Up
Description:  – Baby Owen loves bluegrass music and his granny plays a mean banjo. The only problem is they live far apart. We’ll see how far granny will go to watch Owen wiggle, giggle and jiggle for her bluegrass tunes in Banjo Granny by Sarah Martin Busse, Jacqueline Briggs Martin and Barry Root.


10:30 AM
StoryTime
Event Location: Hampstead Branch
Intended Audience:
Description:  - Everyone is unique, and sometimes we show that in what we wear—or don’t wear. We’ll talk more about this in our two books this week about a tiger who goes wild and a naked mole rat who gets dressed.  Books: Naked Mole Rat Get Dressed by Mo Willems and Tiger Goes Wild by Peter Brown
Activity: Process Art
 



4:30 PM
StoryTime
Event Location: Hampstead Branch
Intended Audience:
Description:  - Everyone is unique, and sometimes we show that in what we wear—or don’t wear. We’ll talk more about this in our two books this week about a tiger who goes wild and a naked mole rat who gets dressed.  Books: Naked Mole Rat Get Dressed by Mo Willems and Tiger Goes Wild by Peter Brown
Activity: Process Art
 



   Tuesday, July 31, 2018
10:00 AM
StoryTime
Event Location: Bertha Pleasant Williams Library - Rosa Parks Branch
Intended Audience:
Description:  Polar Bear, Polar Bear, What Do You Hear? (Carle) Help make the sounds that polar bear hears at the zoo! Sometimes animals don’t make the sounds you expect, sort of like The Cow Who Clucked (Fleming).
 



10:00 AM
Who Has Seen a Shark?
Event Location: Governors Square Branch Library
Intended Audience: Preschool
Description:  Children will sing shark songs, then hear the stories Five Little Sharks Swimming in the Sea and Smiley Shark and make a craft.


   Wednesday, August 22, 2018
11:00 AM
Ramer Summer Adult Programs
Event Location: Ramer Branch Library
Intended Audience: Adult
Description:  Ramer Readin’ Right Book Club